killing time

Killing Time – February 20, 2014

killing time

                               A lot like yesterday, a lot like never. 
                             ~Tim O’Brien, The Things They Carried

Our great national nightmare is over.  Bob Costas has returned to the Olympics.  I didn’t realize how integral Bob was to my Olympic viewing experience until pinkeye viciously ripped him from the Sochi Games (act of terror?……you be the judge).  I sat for a solid week just staring at Matt Lauer and Meredith Viera mumbling, “…..you’re not Bob……YOU…..ARE….NOT….BOB!”

Even with Bob back, this has been an Olympics with a odd lack of any defining moment.  For me, the only thing that’s been a fist-pumping WOO HOO is the US Men’s Hockey team beating Russia.  We play Canada today in the semis.  One perverse by-product of international relations with Russia going south is the Olympics get better.  When we had a “villain” like the Soviet Union to root against, there was a little more of a competitive feel to everything.

My entertainment consumption this week was spending every spare minute when the Olympics were not on, ripping through season 2 of House of Cards.  Just…wow.  I’m not going to spoil it.  I was going to do a list today inspired by a moment in the season, but it’s too new and I don’t want to ruin anything.  Suffice it to say chapters 14-26 did not lack for AAAAAAAAAAAAAH moments.  Game of Thrones season 3 is next.  My wife became a fan through the show and has not read the books.  She asked me what “The Red Wedding” was and I just said we may need to book some time with a counselor after it was done.

I’m going to see The LEGO movie for the third time tonight.  I can’t remember the last time I did that for a non-franchise film (well, it’s a franchise now, but you know what I mean).  “Everything is Awesome” is the Best Song in the History of All Songs.  Ever.  It will not leave my head.  It just makes me want to smile and march in jaunty lock-step with my fellow LEGOs….humans….of course I meant humans.
Killing Time milestones this week: The site passed 53,000 hits this week and 2,100 comments.  Nothing from Greenland yet, though I can feel them bending to the collective will of our clock stabbing.  We did get our first visitor from Azerbijan this week though so that’s great and way to beat Greenland to the party!

The most viewed post of the week, for the second week running is the Achievements and Trophies for The LEGO Movie Video Game.

Books:
Patriot Games by Tom Clancy (re-reading)
S. by JJ Abrams
Influx by Daniel Suarez

Blu Ray:
No blus due to Winter Olympic Mania

TV/HULU:
The 22nd Winter Olympics from Sochi, Russia
The Americans Season One
House of Cards Season Two
Burn Notice Season Seven

Song of the Week: “Everything is Awesome” by Tegan & Sara

Video Game:
Tomb Raider: The Definitive Edition
* XBOX Live, gamertag: sleeplessdave; feel free to friend me!

Comics:
New Avengers Vol. 2: Infinity

One thought on “Killing Time – February 20, 2014”

  1. Congrats on the milestone, Sleepless Dave! I think I contributed about 2,000 of those comments. Honestly, you produce a terrific site. I depend on it to keep current on all my nerd news; it’s where I always turn first. I can count on Killing Time to be accurate, all-encompassing in knowledge, and free of the mean-spititedness and disproportionate griping that runs rampant on so many sites.
    Also… you connected with someone in Azerbaijan? I don’t care what anyone says, the internet is a wonderful invention.

    Like

Leave a comment