HBO Renews Boardwalk Empire for Season 5

Boardwalk Empire, Steve Buscemi, HBO

Just two episodes into the show’s fourth season, HBO has already decided Boardwalk Empire will be returning for a fifth.   Michael Lombardo, President, HBO Programming, had this to say in a statement,

“Thanks to Terry Winter, Martin Scorsese, Tim Van Patten, Howard Korder and their stellar team, Boardwalk Empire remains in a class by itself. I look forward to another electrifying season of this impeccably crafted series.”

I watch Boardwalk on Blu Ray so I left it at the end of season three which was, to me, interminable.  I felt like I lost any emotional connection to any character on the show and then the goofy idiot villain ends up winning the Best Supporting Actor Emmy over Many Patinkin or Aaron Paul?  I don’t know.  Hopefully the fourth season is getting back to the actions and dialing back the creepy factor of last season.  All I have to say is that if Mickey Doyle and that freaking creepy laugh of his survives one more season, I’m out.  You have Capone.  He has a bat.  Do the math!

 

Fantastic Tim Burton Character Tribute Art

This is some must-see work on the part of Marie Bergeron created for Hero Complex’s Young Guns Art Show.  Beetlejuice, Edward Scissorhands, Mars Attacks and The Nightmare Before Christmas.  Early Burton before he and Johnny Depp became evil mind twins.  I must confess that NBC should be on my top 25 movies and I neglected to recall it in time for the posting.  Jack Skellington is one of my favorite movie characters of all-time.  There may or may not be a giant Jack skull on the back of my sensible family car.  I’m just saying…..

Marie-Bergeron-Tribute-to-Tim-Burton-Betelgeuse- Marie-Bergeron-Tribute-to-Tim-Burton-Edward Marie-Bergeron-Tribute-to-Tim-Burton-Jack1 Marie-Bergeron-Tribute-to-Tim-Burton-Martian1

My Favorite Scene: Zoolander (2001) *Tragic Gasoline Fighting Accident*

I think analyzing comedy is a bit like trying to eat soup with a fork.  It’s kind of pointless and bound to contain an awkward metaphor.  Look, if something makes you laugh, it makes you laugh.  Something horribly offensive to one person can be hilarious to the next and while there are certain ground rules of common courtesy, the older I get, the less I care.  Humor is a defense mechanism.  It’s a hard-wired ability to deal with life’s ugliness.  If it makes you laugh it’s funny to you.  There’s a whole different level we could spend analyzing what the things you think are funny say about you, but I’m not getting college credit for this, I want to show a clip about male models having a gasoline fight.

Zoolander is ridiculous.  It’s brilliantly ridiculous and I love it to death.  It’s probably one of my five favorite comedies.  A lot of why I love it so much is because it’s the first movie I saw in the theater after 9/11.  I don’t think I’d laughed since I’d turned on the TV that morning to see the smoke and what followed.  Then to just get away, my brother and I went to see this weird looking movie from Ben Stiller about an idiot male model and I was laughing, but when a gaggle of male models starts having a carefree gasoline fight while WHAM blares in the background, I pretty much fell out of my seat.  Thank you, Ben Stiller, for making me laugh during that horrible time.  Thank you for your really really really ridiculously awesome movie.