Killing Time – February 7, 2013

The name of this blog came from a short column I used to do about all the media I was consuming.  I don’t review half of what I read/listen/watch/play because it’s a lot.  I don’t sleep much.  My mind is a dangerous thing to leave unoccupied (again, if you care to know why, www.changeforfive.org, this is my refuge blog) so I flit from thing to thing, soaking up as much as I can.  I’m committing myself (not literally, though it’s been suggested) to getting something new up every day so I’m slowly developing regular features and I liked this one.  It is just a simple snapshot in time of what those things are.  Some may show up as reviews later, most won’t.  But if you’re reading/watching/listening/playing any of these, comment below and we’ll discuss.  More comments, guys!  Talk with the guy stabbing the watch!

Books: The Finish-The Killing of Osama bin-Laden by Mark Bowden 
                The Letters of JRR Tolkien edited by Christopher Tolkien 
                Halo: The Fall of Reach by Eric Nylund 
                Following/Memento: The Screenplays by Christopher Nolan

Blu Ray: The Big Bang Theory Season Three
                     The Pacific
                     Five Year Engagement
                     Hope Springs
                     Hell on Wheels Season One

Music:  Lot of movie scores; mostly Inception & The Dark Knight

Video Game: Halo 4 (mostly Spartan Ops)
                               Assassin’s Creed III
                               The Walking Dead (my save got erased so have to start over grrr)
                                Kingdoms of Middle Earth & Marvel World of Heroes (phone)
                            * I’m on XBOX Live, gamertag: sleeplessdave

Comics:   Absolute Dark Knight by Frank Miller
                       Fables Volume 18: Cubs in Toyland by Bill Willingham
                       Fantastic Four Volume 6 by Jonathan Hickman
                       FF Volume 4 by Jonathan Hickman

Told you I was a media junkie.  Yes I’m sucking all of that into my brain at once.  Helps drown out the ambient reality.

2 thoughts on “Killing Time – February 7, 2013”

  1. Sleeplessdave,
    I like reading your reviews because you are very astute in an area of culture that I find difficult to grasp. Maybe it’s a generational thing. I read, so I will try some of your suggested books. I don’t do video games although my grandson is getting me to take a stab at Mario.I don’t watch movies, but I am interested in what is out there. You and your dear wife are in my daily thoughts and prayers.

    Like

    1. I’d recommend anything Mark Bowden writes (and I need to review The Finish) but he’s also written a number of excellent nonfiction books like Black Hawk Down, Killing Pablo and Guests of the Ayatollah. Just because I read it doesn’t necessarily make it good. My consumption rate is pretty high, as you know but let me know what you think if you check things out and I’m always grateful for the prayers.

      Like

Leave a comment