Top 5: Spielberg Films

I just returned from our annual trek to the Hollywood Bowl to see the greatest composer of the 20th century, John Williams, conduct the LA Philharmonic in a menu of his best compositions. Williams, of course, works almost exclusively these days for Steven Spielberg which got me to thinking. Remember when a Spielberg film was an event? It didn’t matter what it was about you went because he was THE director. Those days are long past. I don’t think he’s directed an amazing movie since 1998 and only two good ones in the last ten years. I hope he finds his way again, but to me he seems lost in the desert. Ohhhh, but when he was good. So here are my top 5 Spielberg films:

1. Saving Private Ryan (1998)
2. Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981)
3. Schindler’s List (1993)
4. E.T. (1982)
5. Jurassic Park (1993)