Planet Earth

Recently my household made the upgrade to high definition and transitionioned to Blu Ray. Nothing has shown off how amazing that format is more than the 11 part BBC documentary Planet Earth. I’m sure it looks stunning on DVD as well, but I sit there just open-mouthed and begoggled (I am pretty sure I made that up) at the images on the screen. Every single shot looks like a Hollywood F/X shot, but it’s not. It’s nature and the breathtaking beauty of the planet showcased in a way no one has ever captured before. I’m an animal lover and this sort of thing is up my alley, but I can’t think of anyone who wouldn’t enjoy this. Each episode of the series focuses on an aspect of the planet (deserts, mountains, rivers, caves, etc.) and splits that focus off to show you spectacular footage of the most extreme and mind-blowing immensity of the planetary ecosystem intercut with smaller stories that give you a glimpse of rare animals and never-before-seen out of the way places. I would recommend this to anyone, but if you own a Blu Ray player and want to show off how amazing things can look, this is a showcase. Without exaggeration, this is one of the most beautiful and stunning things I’ve ever watched.
10/10