killing time

Killing Time – December 13, 2013

killing time

The Future is something which everyone reaches at the rate of sixty minutes an hour, whatever he does, whoever he is.
~C.S. Lewis

I can’t wait to go back to Middle-Earth.  That’s the thought that’s been keeping me going like a carrot  dangling in front of my eyes (well, carrot, isn’t terribly motivating so we’ll consider it code for “steak”) for the last month or so.  MIddle-Earth is my favorite fictional world.  The characters and stories that take place within it are precious to me not only because of how good they are, but because they are inextricably linked to my middle and high school years.  My best friend gave me the books in the first place.  Another best friend (I have good friends, I can have multiple besties) and I spent the better part of our high school years in a dusky comic shop playing a Middle Earth CCG long before any of the movies had been released.  We had our own ideas  of what the characters looked and sounded like (which worked out since the two painters who did the cars were the two main designers for the film trilogy.  We did find out we’d been mispronouncing half of the things for a decade, but that was a small price to pay to actually visit Middle-Earth.  The midnight showing of Fellowship, nearly everyone I knew was in the theater and we’d bought most of the tickets out.  It wasn’t just a movie experience.  It was a culmination of a shared dream we’d had together for years.  To this day, it’s my favorite memory of seeing a film in a theater.

Killing Time milestones this week: Well, traffic on the site, despite its super sexy makeover, has remained steadfastly “small conference room” in size.  I don’t get it and it’s frustrating sometimes that I have a quarter of the audience I did during the summer, but I didn’t do this for you buggers, I do this for me.  This was never supposed to be about numbers…..so anyway, here are our milestones in numbers: passed 38k hits, 220 followers, 1500 comments and 1300 posts.  No new countries, which – of course – is the fault of the vicious smear campaign spawned by French Guianan spies.  I would not be surprised if they’re diverting my traffic.  Guinea Frogs!

The most popular article of the week was a tie between the Jupiter Ascending trailer and our Christmas Poll.  Remember, head over to the Killing Time home page and vote because it’s all over the place and any holiday classic could emerge as our KT Official Christmas Classic.  That’s all, people.  We left Thorin’s company at the Eyrie, which means Beorn and the Woodland Realm are just ahead.  I’ll meet you there.

Books:
The Silent Wife by A.S.A. Harrison

Blu
 Ray:
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Extended Edition
House of Cards Season One

TV/HULU:
Grey’s Anatomy Season Ten
Marvel’s Agents of SHIELD Season One
Vikings Season One
House of Cards Season One

Song of the Week: “The Youngblood” by The Naked and Famous

Video Game:
LEGO Marvel Super Heroes
Bioshock Infinite DLC
* XBOX Live, gamertag: sleeplessdave; feel free to friend me!

Comics:
Uncanny Avengers Vol. 2: The Apocalypse Twins by Rick Remender
Swamp Thing Vol. 3: Rotworld – The Green

Leave a comment