Trailer Time: The Lone Ranger International Trailer (2013)

I grew up watching The Lone Ranger.  The old TV show, mostly.  I had action figures.  Even though I wasn’t allowed to see the movie, I had this kids picture book edition of the bomb of a movie they tried to use to resurrect the franchise in the 1980s and I loved it.  It’s a Western combined with a Super Hero!  Thusly, I was initially excited to hear it was going to get a revival.  Then they cast Johnny Depp as Tonto.  My feelings on Johnny Depp are exceedingly mixed.  For the longest time, he did nothing but small films (with the odd Edward Scissorhands thrown in).  Then came the first Pirates of the Caribbean and Jack Sparrow.  Glorious.  Then came the following Pirates of the Carribeans.  Not-s0-glorious.  Horrific. Better but still not glorious. (There’s my quick reviews of 2-4).  But ok, reserving judgment.  Then I saw the first trailer….and the second….and I really have no expectations other than this is going to be the Tonto is Quirky Show.  The bar of my expectations is so low that if the film is marginally good, I’ll be so overjoyed that I’ll ride off into the sunset with my action figures held aloft.

So that was that and here’s the international trailer for it released today.  The Lone Ranger comes out Independence Day Weekend.

Leave a comment