Killing Time – August 1, 2013

Killing Time

“There’s never enough time to do all the nothing you want to do.”
Bill Watterson (Calvin & Hobbes)

Summer has slurred right along and it’s already August.  I think if you’d told me that on August 1st my two favorite movies of the year were going to be (at this point) Now You See Me and Despicable Me 2, I would have been
A) surprised
B) clinically depressed.

Hopefully Elysium can pull out a big win at the end of summer, but this just hasn’t been a good year a the movies so far and September is THE DEAD ZONE.  Where movies go to die.

I watched all of the first season of New Girl.  I have no rational explanation for it.  I tried it, and then I was still watching it….and then I’d watched 24 episodes.  I just really like the dynamic between the roommates.  It reminds me of when I had a group of psychotic friends who hung out all the time and I miss that.  I miss having a Schmitt.  I really do have one, he just doesn’t live upstairs anymore…

KT milestones this week: 19,000 hits, 800 posts and Myanmar (the artist formerly known as Burma) joins our KT United Nations.  I know what you’re thinking, and I’m thinking it too: what about French Guiana.  No.  French Guiana continues to defiantly ignore my pleas to stop by and complete my South American coup.  I’m running out of persuasive strategies, quite honestly.  I may have to find what is particularly offensive to French Guianians and start vicious vitriol to get their attention.  I’m not a proud man; I’ll do that.  I’m just hesitant to get my hands right up in there and do the research.  Doesn’t mean I won’t, it’s just the kind of reluctance you feel while walking Old Yeller  out back.  That may have been an extreme comparison….but let it serve as a warning to French Guiana of just how geographically needy I’m getting. 

Books:
Free Will by Sam Harris
Prozac Nation by Elizabeth Wurtzel

Blu Ray:
Red Cliff (if you’ve never seen this; it’s the BIGGEST film I’ve ever seen)

TV/HULU:
New Girl Season One (I won’t explain myself again!)
Suits Season Three (Best show out there until Breaking Bad‘s back)
Whoodunit Season One (Clue meets Survivor.  It’s a bit like what my brother thought Survivor was actually going to be when it was first on and he never quite got over that it wasn’t going to be a show where the contestants were actually going to stalk and kill one another until a Highlander-esque finale occured)

Song of the Week: Just lots of Mumford and Sons

Video Game:
Borderlands 2 (Level 34 Gunzerker; beat DLC Capt. Scarlet)
Crackdown
Injustice Gods Among Us
* XBOX Live, gamertag: sleeplessdave; feel free to friend me!

Comics:
Hawkeye Vol. 2: Little Hits by Matt Fraction
Wonder Woman New 52 Vol. 3 by Brian Azzarello
Scott Pilgrim HC Color Vol. 1 : Scott’s Precious Little Life by Bryan Lee O’Malley
Uncanny X-Men Vol. 1: Revolution by Brian Michael Bendis
Wolverine and the X-Men Vol. 5 by Jason Aaron
New Avengers Vol. 1: Everything Dies by Jonathan Hickman

Leave a comment